Election Live Result

Update on Vidhan Sabha Election Live Result, Bye Election Result, Lok Sabha Assembly Election Result Live, Municipal Nagar Nigam Panchayat Election Result

Meghalaya (Ranikor) Vidhan Sabha Bye Election Date Schedule

North-East State of Meghalaya is soon going to witness assembly bye elections in the regions of South Tura and Ranikor are to be held on 23rd August 2018, declared the Election Commission of India (ECI).

The Chief Minister of Meghalaya Conrad K Sangma will contest the electons from South Tura in west Garo Hills district.

The date for elections in South Tura and Ranikor was announced on 23 July and 30 July respectively. For Ranikor, the last date to file nomination papers was 30 July 2018. August 9 stands as the last date for withdrawal of nominations.

 The result of Meghalaya By-Elections 2018 would be declared on 29 August 2018. The counting of votes will take place on 27 August 2018.

The selection of the election dates depended upon various factors like festivals and weather conditions prevalent in the districts.


Why Ranikor South Tura Assembly By Election 2018 is organised?

South Tura has 51 and Ranikor has 35 Constituent Assembly seats in total. The seats were left vacant after the resignation of Agatha Sangma from Ranikor and M.M Danggo from South Tura respectively, declared James Lyngdoh, the working president of Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC).

This declaration was made at Congress Bhawan in Shillong. Danggo was elected for the fifth time in a row (from 1998 onwards). He won his very first seat in Langrin Constituency in 1998. For this seat, he contested the election on People’s Democratic Movement (PDM) ticket.

Located in the south west khasi hills, Ranikor comprises around 29670 voters with 15183 males and 14487 females. Previous elections in Ranikor were held on 27 February 2018 with Congress winning the assembly seat.

The constituency of South Tura is situated in Garo Hills with 30197 voters. Out of this, 14846 are males while 15351 are females. Similar to Ranikor, elections for this seat were too held on 27 February 2018. IND won this particulars seat.

Congress looks forward to support Charlotte W Momin, a former principal of TURA Government Public School against the previous chief minister Conrad K Sangma. Ranikor constituency, on the other hand, sides with former GSU leader Jackuish K Sangma as their prospective candidate.

Other candidates contesting for the upcoming By-Elections will be P N Syiem, the former MLA of Mawsynram and a candidate of the People’s Democratic Front (PDF) and Pius Marwein, a candidate of United Democratic Party. Marewin, previously, lost to Danggo in Februrary 2018 elections by 20002 votes.

    Updated: August 10, 2018 — 9:21 am

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    All Right Reserved @ copy write-2018 Frontier Theme
    error: Content is protected !!